Monday, March 5, 2012

What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA (14)

It's Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Sheila of Book Journey.  Jen & Kellee from 
Teach Mentor Texts have adapted this to focus on Picture Books to Young Adult Books.
Each week I'll recap what I've read/reviewed the week before 
and then look ahead to what I am planning on reading/reviewing in the upcoming week.

Last week's book adventures:
March has started off as a stronger reading month from February.  This past week I read 32 books - most were picture books and several are Nonfiction Picture Books which I will share on Wednesday.  
Here are my favorites from the past week:

Up, Tall and High by Ethan Long
This one made me chuckle aloud in the bookstore.  Simple story but a fun one.

Zero the Hero by Joan Holub; Illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld
My kindergarten teachers are going to love this one as part of celebrating Zero the Hero every 10 days.  This book will appeal to kids on one level and for adults - especially all the small speech bubbles/secondary text.

Migrant by Maxine Trottier; Illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault
Some books just feel special and are written beautifully.  This one fits that category.

Tales for Very Picky Eaters by Josh Schneider
This book won the Geisel Award back in January.  It is a fun book for early readers.


Fangbone! by Michael Rex
Fans of Babymouse, Squish, Lunch Lady will get a kick out of Fangbone. 

So, what are you reading this week? 

Please share! And remember to check in at Sheila's or Jen & Kellee's blog to see what they and others are reading!